More Ammunition Against Cloud Services

I don’t like to say told you so, but …. told you so!

http://www.extremetech.com/computing/114803-megauploads-demise-what-happens-to-your-files-when-a-cloud-service-dies

There are a lot of good people who used MegaUpload for legitimate purposes who have now lost access to their data.  I just hope that they have made backups of their own as I suspect it will be a long time before they can gain access to their data whilst the authorities search through the files looking for more evidence of copyright infringement.

I have and always will have a big problem with my data being stored on someone else’s servers that I personally do not have any control over.

See my previous rants on the subject:

Permalink to What happens to data when your cloud provider evaporates- – Computerworld

Permalink to VMware Cloud Goes Down

Permalink to Now it’s Amazon’s EC2 that proves my point!!

Permalink to The Cloud–An Example Of My Distrust of Cloud Computing

Permalink to The Cloud–What do I think-

I know it’s all negative, but I think everyone should have a healthy mistrust for personal data stored on the web, you just never know where it goes what it’s used for and if it’s important to you whether it will survive the demise of cloud providers.

Siv

Published by

gsivill

An IT Consultant, worked for TSB Bank for 18 years, latterley in IT related areas delivering PC based applications to the Branch network. Left the Bank to concentrate on IT and joined DLP Consulting based in Cheltenham and worked as a senior manager there for 6 years. Finally became self employed when DLP went into voluntary liquidation maintaining the customer relationships I had developed whilst in DLP and now helping 20 to 30 regular small business customers and 50 or so private clients with their Windows based PCs, networks and databases.

Leave a Reply

